JUST IN: Labour Party reserves 2027 Presidential ticket for Peter Obi

The Labour Party has announced the reservation of its 2027 ticket for the party’s leader, Mr. Peter Obi.

The party also announced a right of first refusal for the Abia State Governor, Alex Oti, should he decide to seek reelection on the party’s platform.

This was contained in a communique circulated after the party’s convention on Wednesday, signed by Julius Abure and Alhaji Umar Farouk Ibrahim, National Chairman and National Secretary, respectively.

The communique said, “Based on the antecedents of the Presidential candidate before, during and after the 2023 General Election it was recommended that the 2027 Presidential ticket of the party be solely reserved for His Excellency, Mr. Peter Gregory Obi, the National leader of the party.

“Furthermore, the Convention in session reviewed ongoing development and performance of its Governor in Abia state, His Excellency, Dr. Alex Otti and pass a vote of confidence on him and recommend the 2027 Abia state Gubernatorial ticket of the party be reserved for His Excellency, Dr. Alex Otti.”

The communique also addressed the state of the nation.

“The National Convention reviewed the state of the Nation and concluded that it is not grabbing power that matters but what you do with it.

“After the 2023 general election, the security situation of the nation has not improved as there is a geometrical increase in numbers of lives lost and the economy has worsened as the standard and conditions of living of the Nigerian populace has continue to deteriorate.

“Inflation is sky rocketing, unemployment rate is high, this has led to massive hunger and poverty in the land. This is a result of the continuous devaluation of the currency and increase in petroleum product prices.

“The Convention is session therefore call on the President and Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces of Nigeria, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to quickly take drastic and proactive steps to save the economy from total collapse to revive the economy and put it on the path of growth and development.”
The party assured its members across the country of an optimistic and bright future, and equally appreciated all forums, groups and others for the steadfast support in the 2023 General election and onwards.

It said: “Now that elections are over, the Convention in session encourages all groups to collapse their structure at the ward, local, and National levels into the already existing structure of the party.”

A list of national officers of the party elected alongside Abure include: Deputy National Chairman , Mr. Clement Ojukwu; Deputy National Chairman, Dr. Ayo Olunrufemi; National Vice Chairman North Central, Abraham Idoko; National Vice Chairman South East, Ceekay Igara; National Vice Chairman South South, Anthony C. Ezeagwu; National Secretary, Alhaji Umar farouk Ibrahim; Deputy National Secretary, Rotimi Kehinde Adekunle; Deputy National Secretary, Innocent Okeke.

Others are; National Treasurer, Mrs Ngozi Doga; National Financial Secretary, Dayo Ekong; National Publicity Secretary – Mr. Ifoh Obiora; National Organizing Secretary, Comrade Yahuza Ahmed; National Legal Adviser, Barr. Kehinde Edun; National Women leader, Mrs. Dudu Manuga; National Youth Leader, Prince Kennedy Ihanotu; Assistant National Youth Leader North West, Abdulrahman Chindo; Assistant National Youth Leader South South, Barry Auotu.

Three positions were however left unfilled. They include Deputy National Chairman (NLC), Deputy National Chairman (TUC) and Deputy National Chairman.

The communique added: “The Convention in session empowers the National Working Committee (NWC) to fill existing vacancies in the NWC and NEC.”

Latest articles

CBN sacks 200 staff

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here