Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Lionel messi and 8 others battle for 2019 Puskas Award

The puskas award

The shortlist for the FIFA Puskás Award has been announced. The award was first made in 2009 and it recognizes the best goal scored worldwide between July 16, 2018, and July 19, 2019. The list which is inclusive, with seven men and three women on the shortlist, the highest number of female nominees in a single year to date. As yet, no woman has ever won the Puskas Award

The award was established in 2009 by then-FIFA president Sepp Blatter and Cristiano Ronaldo was the first winner with a goal for Manchester United against Porto in the Champions League.

Who will succeed 2018’s winner Mo Salah in taking home the coveted crown this year?

Here is the list of the 10 nominations for 2018/19. Football fans will have to wait until September 23 in Milan to find out the official winner

Who will succeed 2018’s winner Mo Salah in taking home the coveted crown this year? This year’s selections certainly do not disappoint – take a look at the goals and make your pick.

Matheus Cunha (BRA)

Bayer Leverkusen v RB Leipzig [Bundesliga] (6 April 2019)

Zlatan Ibrahimović (SWE)

Toronto FC v LA Galaxy [MLS] (15 September 2018)

Lionel Messi (ARG)

Real Betis v FC Barcelona [La Liga] (17 March 2019)

Ajara Nchout (CMR)

Cameroon v New Zealand [FIFA Women’s World Cup] (20 June 2019)

Fabio Quagliarella (ITA)

Sampdoria v Napoli [Serie A] (2 September 2018)

Juan Fernando Quintero (COL)

River Plate v Racing Club [Argentinian Superliga] (10 February 2019)

Amy Rodriguez (USA)

Utah Royals v Sky Blue FC [NWSL] (15 June 2019)

Billie Simpson (NIR)

Sion Swifts Ladies FC v Cliftonville Ladies FC [Women’s NIFL Premiership] (9 August 2018)

Andros Townsend (ENG)

Manchester City v Crystal Palace [Premier League] (22 December 2018)

Dániel Zsóri (HUN)

Debrecen FC v Ferencváros TC [Nemzeti Bajnoskag I] (16 February 2019)

Meanwhile, it is worth noting that no player has won the award twice.