Xenophobia: South Africa’s President Sends Special Delegation To Nigeria, Seven Other Countries

2018-07-27 16:44:35 South African President Cyril Ramaphosa addresses a media conference at the end of the BRICS Summit in Johannesburg on July 27, 2018, as the heads of the BRICS group -- Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa -- met in Johannesburg for an annual summit dominated by the risk of a US-led trade war. Five of the biggest emerging economies on July 26, stood by the multilateral system and vowed to strengthen economic cooperation in the face of US tariff threats and unilateralism. Themba Hadebe / POOL / AFP

President of South Africa, Cyril Ramaphosa, has sent special envoys to deliver messages of solidarity to several Heads of State and Governments across Africa, according to a report by Channels Television.

The team comprising a former minister in the presidency, Mr Jeff Radebe, Ambassador Kingsley Mmabolo and Dr Khulu Mbatha, will visit Nigeria, Niger, Ghana, Senegal, Tanzania, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Zambia.

The special envoys will deliver a message from President Ramaphosa regarding the incidents of violence, which resulted in attacks on foreign nationals and destruction of property in the former apartheid nation.

They are also expected to reassure fellow African countries that South Africa was committed to the ideals of pan-African unity and to the rule of law.

Beyond that, they will also brief governments in the identified countries about steps taken by the South African Government to end xenophobic attacks and punish perpetrators.