Tribunal Upholds Jibrin’s Electoral Victory

Abdulmumin Jibrin

The National Assembly and State House Assembly Elections Petition Tribunal sitting in Kano has dismissed a petition by Aliyu Datti Yako and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) challenging the victory of the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Abdulmumin Jibrin, for Kano Kiru/Bebeji Federal Constituency.

In a unanimous decision, the three-man tribunal chaired by Justice Nayai Aganaba affirmed the victory of Jibrin in the February 23 election.

Other members of the tribunal are Justices Ashu Augustine Ewah and Mustapha Tijjani.

The tribunal held that the petitioners failed to prove the allegations as listed in their petitions against the respondents.