Tinubu appoints Bisi Akande, Wole Olanipekun and others as chairmen of governing councils for tertiary institutions

President Bola Tinubu has approved the reconstitution of governing councils and boards for federal tertiary institutions in the country as disclosed in a statement released by Nnamdi Mbaeri, the permanent secretary in the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) on Friday, June 14. 


Tinubu has now appointed Bisi Akande, former interim national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), to chair the University of Ibadan’s governing council, and Wole Olanipekun, a senior advocate of Nigeria (SAN) and his lawyer in the 2023 election, as the chairman of the University of Lagos council.


Isa Yuguda, a former governor of Bauchi, will chair the National Open University’s governing council; Siyan Oyeweso will chair Obafemi Awolowo University’s council; Adebayo Shittu for David Umahi University of Medicine in Ebonyi State; and Muiz Banire and Florence Ita Giwa have been appointed to lead the councils of the Federal University of Transportation in Katsina state and the Federal Polytechnic in Ugep, Cross River state, respectively.


In total, 255 individuals were appointed to the governing bodies of tertiary institutions in the country.


Latest articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here