Saudi Arabia’s new eVisa, visa-on-arrival not for Nigerians, Africans


Recent reports have it that only citizens of 49 countries are eligible to apply for the newly-introduced tourist visa to Saudi Arabia either online or upon arrival and Nigeria is not one of them.

According to the list of eligible countries on the Saudi Arabia e-visa website, Nigerians and Africans cannot apply for the visa online or apply for one on arrival to the Islamic kingdom as tourists.

Saudi Arabia on Friday said citizens from 49 countries are now eligible for e-visas or visas on arrival, including the United States, Australia, and several European nations.

On her e-visa website, Saudi Arabia encouraged those, whose countries are not eligible to visit Saudi embassies and consulates across the world.

The list of eligible countries include, USA, Canada, Kazakhstan, Singapore, Brunei, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, Spain, Belgium, Malaysia, Austria, Cyprus, UK, Croatia, Estonia, Andorra, Denmark, Germany, Bulgaria, France, Hungary, Czech Republic, Holland, Italy, Finland, Ireland, Lithuania, Greece, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Iceland, Malta, Poland, Latvia, Norway, Russia, Luxembourg, Romania, Slovenia, Montenegro, Slovakia, Switzerland, Portugal, Sweden, Australia, San Marino, Ukraine, China, including Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan.

The visa will be a one-year, multiple-entry visa, allowing tourists to spend up to 90 days in the country.

Nigerians in their thousands visit Saudi Arabia every year for the annual Hajj and Umrah.