President Buhari drops UK and US ambassadors, reappoints 12 non-career ambassadors

President Buhari delivery his keynote address on COVID-19, Nationwide, 27th April 2020

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday July 2, approved the renewal of appointments of 12 non-career ambassadors.

The Nigerian leader who did not renew the appointments of George Oguntade, Nigerian high commissioner to the United Kingdom, and Sylvanus Nsofor, Nigerian ambassador to the United States, congratulated those whose appointments were renewed.

In the statement released by presidential spokesperson Garba Shehu, Buhari urged ambassadors whose appointments were renewed to uphold and renew the values of stewardship to Nigeria, while also bridging good relations with other nations.

The statement partly read;

“The assurance from the president became necessary following recent complaints after the announcement of 41 non-career ambassadors that some states were not captured.

“The renewal of the appointments followed a performance evaluation, which necessitated an approval for continuation in office of the ambassadors, & the President will still decide if they will remain in their current postings.”

See list of ambassadors whose appointments were renewed below;


Uzoma Emenike. Abia

Yusuf Tuggar. Bauchi

Muhammad Madugu. Bauchi

Baba Jida. Borno

Uyigue Oghogho. Edo

Eniola Ajayi. Ekiti

Deborah Iliya. Kaduna

Mohammed Rimi. Katsina

Tijjani Muhammad-Bande. Kebbi

Modupe Irele. Lagos

Adeyinka Asekun. Ogun

Goni Bura. Yobe