Opc set to welcome Abiola, Soyinka, others as it marks 25th anniversary


OPC will on Thursday, August 29, honor late MKO Abiola, Soyinka among others.

Chief Gani Adams who disclosed this said the annulment of June 12, 1993, presidential election that culminated in the establishment of OPC .

However, Adams also expressed regret that despite many sacrifices, not so much had been achieved with democracy Chief Moshood Abiola, Prof. Wole Soyinka and Dr. Fredrick Fasheun would be honored as the Oodua Peoples Congress (OPC) celebrates its silver jubilee anniversary on Thursday, August 29, in Lagos. Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland, Chief Gani Adams, said in a statement on Sunday, August 25, that the journey that started 25 years ago was not an easy thing.

The Aare Onakakanfo explained that it was the annulment of June 12, 1993, presidential election that culminated in the establishment of OPC. “The zeal and patriotism of some Yoruba nationalists to liberate Nigeria from the brutal, ferocious and savage hold of the military junta led to the thrusting of OPC into national consciousness on Aug 29, 1994”.

The late Dr. Frederick Fasehun, myself and seven others took a critical and patriotic decision that the mandate of the late Aare Moshood Abiola (M.K.O.), annulled must be actualized and Nigeria must be set free from the clutches of dictatorship.

“Five years after the formation of OPC, democracy took firm root in the country in 1999; today it is a thing of joy that we have 20 years of uninterrupted, participatory democracy in Nigeria. “But this is not without sacrifice, the late Abiola, whose mandate was annulled in 1993, alongside OPC leaders, fought for the actualization of the June 12. “But sadly, the business mogul died in detention in controversial circumstances during the regime of General Abdulsalami Abubakar on July 7, 1998,” Adams said.

The OPC leader said that many Nigerians that protested the continued detention of Abiola were shot on the streets by soldiers between 1993 and 1998.

He, however, said that with the determination of the group not to relent and continue pressing for a better change, Nigeria, and the Yoruba nation will be liberated. Some of the recipients of the OPC special posthumous awards include the late Chiefs Obafemi Awolowo, the late Moshood MKO Abiola, Gani Fawehinmi, Dr. Beko Ransome- Kuti. Pa Adekunle Ajasin, Abraham Adesanya, Justice Adewale Thompson, Amb. Segun Olusola, Chief Rasheed Gbadamosi, Olumide Adeniji, Tony Ngrube, Prof. Sophie Oluwole.

Ibraheem Abobanawo and the founding father and spiritual leader of the congress, the late Dr. Fredrick Faseun. Prof. Wole Soyinka, Barristers Femi Falana, Femi Aborishade, Kehinde Oluwole, Gabriel Akinadewo, Dr. Joe Okei- Odumakin and Yemisi Shylon, among others.” The awards are to appreciate all the recipients for playing different roles in the course of the struggle to liberate the nation.