India election results: Narendra Modi comes back “Bigger” for second term

India's Prime Minister Narenda Modi wins Big

Indian PM Narendra Modi has secured another five-year term after winning a landslide general election victory. More than 600 million people voted in a marathon six-week process. In his victory speech at BJP headquarters in New Delhi, Narendra Modi said his win is a “guarantee of a bright future for the common people of this country.”

Millions of Indians have been seen celebrating over PM Modi’s “Big Win”

Narendra Modi comfortably won in his constituency of Varanasi, in Uttar Pradesh state, with 63.62% of the vote.

Modi won 674,664 votes compared to his next opponent, Shalini Yadav of the Samajwadi Party. Congress Party candidate Ajay Rai won 152,548 votes. He smashed his 2014 showing in Varansi, when he won 371,000 votes.

Mr Modi has not just exceeded exit poll predictions but has also won a larger share of the vote than the 2014 elections, partial results show. His Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) looks set to win about 300 of the 543 seats in parliament, in what Mr Modi hailed as “a historic mandate”.

The main opposition alliance, which is headed by Rahul Gandhi’s Congress party, has admitted defeat. At a press conference in Delhi, Mr Gandhi conceded the general election as well as his Amethi seat in Uttar Pradesh, which he had held since 2004 and his family had held for decades.

PM Modi and Gandhi

The vote had been widely viewed as a referendum on the prime minister’s Hindu nationalist politics. “We all want a new India. I want to bow down my head and say thank you,” Mr Modi said in a victory address to BJP supporters on Thursday evening.