EPL: Raheem Sterling wins FWA Footballer of the Year ahead of Van Dijk, Aguero


Manchester City winger, Raheem Sterling, has been crowned the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year, adding to his PFA Young Player of the Year award.

Sterling finished ahead of PFA Player of the Year, Virgil van Dijk, in the voting and his City team-mate, Sergio Aguero.

Having scored 17 goals and assisted in another 10, Sterling has played a prominent role in putting City on the verge of retaining their Premier League title for the first time.

There were also votes for Bernardo Silva, David Silva, Harry Kane, Eden Hazard and Alexandre Lacazette.

Nikita Parris made it a City double after being named FWA Women’s Footballer of the Year.

Parris netted 19 goals in 19 games in the Women’s Super League.