EDO 2020: APC chairman in Etsako west hosts counterparts, party executive in Edo north, on peace talk

APC Etsako west chairman, Alhaji Abubakar Akokhia

Ahead of the governorship election in Edo state comes 2020, some political strategists and analysts in Edo North have begun their trade thereby threatening peace in the political environment.

In order to ensure calmness amongst people within and outside the ruling party APC, the Chairman of All Progressive Congress APC in Etsako West, Alh Abubakar Akokhia has called on all party faithful in the area under the leadership of APC Chairmen in Edo North to welcome peace and avoid political crisis capable of disuniting members of the party ahead 2020 election in the state.

Alhaji Akokhia made this disclosure yesterday at the party secretariat in Etsako West LGA while addressing his counterparts across Edo North together with the party executives in the senatorial district.

He noted that the governorship election in the state will certainly come and go but what the party and the state need now is for all hands to be on deck to support the present government in the state under the leadership of Governor Obaseki pending when the party takes its decision, adding that the idea of destructive criticism is a bad omen capable of dividing the party ahead 2020 election in the state.

Party members present at the meeting

The Party Chairman further opined that the party will not spare any political miscreant, be it an executive member or not, who disobeys the party’s instructions to cause disunity and also prohibited executive members and other party faithful from the formation or joining of campaign groups that might as well cause disunity and mayhem in the party”, sheath your sword and support the developmental train in the state”, Akokhia advised.

He noted that when the atmosphere is tensed politically, it gives rise to disunity and slowness in the discharge of political dividends in the area. Alhaji Akokhia said that as party chairmen and Executive members, the party members and the general public look up to them for better guide hence, the need for them to awake a campaign against distraction in this present government.

Other chairmen took turns to speak in support of the aforesaid by Alh Akokhia (JP) adding that all executive members and other party faithful should see the party as supreme in decision making.

In a related development, Alhaji Akokhia advised people in Edo North to refrain from dragging the National leader of the party, Comrade Adams Aliyu Oshiomole into an early party concern in the state noting that the government of Obaseki in Edo state and Oshiomole at the national level need nothing but cooperation. He preached for peaceful coexistence in Edo North.

Women Leaders representing various constituent

In addition to the aforesaid, it was noted that Edo State is not the only APC state preparing for the governorship election, Ondo and Kogi states are also doing their elections in few months time and these states are calm and united. According to Alh Akokhia, it is only unity we can stand to defeat our completely dislodged opposition. He urged media aides to the governor and loyalists of the national chairman to desist from creating unnecessary drama both on social media and other platforms.

He concluded by enjoining party faithful across the state to remain calm and allow the party to take its first step by January. In lieu of this, all those interested in contesting for the governorship election should wait till next year for INEC and party guidelines before embarking on campaigns.

The executive members present at the meeting are below listed;

1. Alh Abubakar Akokhia JP
(Etsako West LGA chairman of APC)

2. Comr Suleiman Bagudu
(Etsako Central LGA chairman of APC)

3. Sir Sunday Adogah
(Etsako East LGA chairman of APC)

4. Hon Alukpe Lugard
(Owan West LGA chairman of APC)

5. Mallam Kasimu Zuberu Shabah
(Owan East LGA chairman of APC)

6. Hon Ashefor Henry
(Akoko-Edo LGA chairman of APC)

1. Hon Ahmed Dauda
(Etsako West)

2. Hon Topa Okomuyin

3. Barr Theophilus Aigboje
(Owan East)

4. Hon Umoru Oghenakhoghie Pedro
(Etsako Central)

5. Hon Augustine Evien
(Owan West)

6. Prince Ogbake Izuagbe
(Etsako East)

1. Hajia Jummai Mohammed
(Etsako West)

2. Rachael I. Momoh.

3. Margaret Imoren
(Owan East)

4. Margaret Ichibor
(Etsako East)

5. Alice Ekelome
(Owan West)

6. Emorkidi Kate
(Etsako Central)

1. Hon John O. Odedeh
(Etsako East)

2. Hon Alh AZ Musa-Jorget
(Etsako Central)

3. Comr Peter Ologun Omokugbo

4. Comr Okhumaviha ThankGod (AKA Gboski)
(Etsako West)

5. Omogbai Odion
(Owan West)

6. Osahon Irhiabevbo
(Owan East)