BREAKING: Osinbajo Chairs Valedictory NEC session

Abba Kyari, Boss Mustapha and VP Osinbajo (L-R)

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo on Thursday chaired the valedictory session for the National Economic Council (NEC).

The meeting started around 11.05am after the arrival of Osinbajo into the council chamber. The meeting went into closed doors immediately after opening prayer by the Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong and rendition of the National anthem.

Most of the 36 governors are in attendance. A former governor of Osun State, Rauf Aregbesola was also attending the meeting.

Records have it that the NEC throughout its tenure (2015 to 2019) had a total of 38 meetings with 173 resolutions, 19 of them on agriculture. Eight of the resolutions were on infrastructure and services, while 16 of them were on human development, 32 on revenue generation and fiscal stability, eight in the survival of states and 40 on security.

Also In attendance at the meeting are Secretary to the Government of the Federation Boss Mustapha, Chief of Staff to the President Abba Kyari, Head of Service of the Federations, Winifred Oyo-Ita, National Security Adviser Babagana Monguno and 31 ministers.