Ada Hegerberg wins BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year award

Ada Hegerberg

The Norwegian and  Lyon star Ada Hegerberg has just been named the BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year 2019.  Ada won the prestigious award through world wide votes by fans. The award comes after she scored a hat-trick in the Champions League final as her side lifted the trophy. “It’s a rollercoaster of feelings. It’s amazing,” she said of the BBC accolade.

Meanwhile, the Denmark and Wolfsburg striker Pernille Harder finished second in the public vote, having  Australia and Chicago Red Stars forward Sam Kerr coming third.

The other nominees on the five-player shortlist for the BBC World Service award were Japan and Lyon defensive midfielder Saki Kumagai and Portland Thorns’ USA midfielder Lindsey Horan.

The Norwegian Hegerberg, 23, who also claimed the award in 2017, said: “It’s an honour winning this for the second time.

Ada expressed her gtatitude through her tweeter post that “(So this happened.) Looks like my BBC Women’s Player of the Year 2017 got a new friend. Massive thanks to the voters, my team which pushes me to be the best I can be, to @OL and to the @BBCSport for helping the game to grow.