10th National Assembly: Full list of lawmakers eyeing Senate Presidency seat

A list of people vying to become the next Senate President has been released.


Recall that the 10th Assembly will be inaugurated in June 2023 after the swearing-in of the President-elect, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu on May 29.


In the red Chamber, the 10th Assembly will be populated by lawmakers from the All Progressives Congress, Peoples Democratic Party, Labour Party, and New Nigeria Peoples Party.


Others are the Social Democratic Party, All Progressives Grand Alliance and Young Peoples Progressive Party.


While the APC clinched 57 seats, the PDP claimed 29, the Labour Party coasted home with 6 seats. Others are NNPP and SDP with 2 members each while APGA and YPPP have one member each.


Apart from the Senate presidency, positions such as the deputy Senate president and Speaker of the House of Representatives are up for grabs.


Others are leaders of the majority and minority caucuses. They include the majority leader, deputy majority leader, majority or chief whip, deputy whip, minority leader, deputy minority leader, minority whip and deputy minority whip.


Below are lawmakers who have declared their ambitions to lead the 10th National Assembly.


1. Senator Jibrin Barau (Kano Central).


2. Sani Musa (Niger East).


3. Orji Kalu (Abia North).


4. GodsWill Akpabio (Akwa-Ibom North-West).


5. Senators Osita Izunaso (Imo West).


6. Peter Ndubueze (Imo North).


7. Abdul’Aziz Yari (Zamfara West).


8. Ahmad Lawan (Yobe North).


9. Ali Ndume (Borno South).

Latest articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here